European Thesaurus International Relations and Area Studies

The European Thesaurus is a multilingual resource covering all essential aspects in the field of international relations and area studies.

It employs a controlled vocabulary to index and retrieve specialist literature and information in the field of international relations and area studies.

Scope

The European Thesaurus focusses on international politics and area studies. It comprises 24 subject fields (download as PDF file), each of which is further sub-divided.

It contains about 8,200 descriptors (preferred terms) in nine languages, as well as numerous non-descriptors for each language. The proper names of about 600 international organisations and international agreements are also included.

Languages

English is the primary language used in the European Thesaurus. Equivalents of the English descriptors are available in Czech, French, German, Italian, Polish and Spanish. Versions in Russian and Croatian are available at the IREON gateway.

The European Thesaurus is also used as a terminological reference source and translation tool.

Background

The European Thesaurus was developed in a collaboration under the auspices of the European Information Network on International Relations and Area Studies (EINIRAS). It integrates the terminologies of a number of thesaurus systems and subject heading lists maintained by European research institutions, including the Royal Institute of International Affairs, Institut français des relations internationales, Stockholm International Peace Institute, and some members of FIV - The German Information Network for International Relations and Area Studies.

The European Thesaurus is updated regularly.

The following institutions have participated or are still participating in the European Thesaurus project:

 

Cross-concordances

Cross-concordances allow you to search across multiple databases. Cross-concordances have been established to the following related thesauri:

  • STW Thesaurus for Economics
  • Thesaurus for the Social Sciences (TheSoz)
  • TWSE - Thesaurus for Economic and Social Development
  • PAIS Subject Terms Thesaurus

 

Contact

The European Thesaurus Project is coordinated by the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), German Institute for International and Security Affairs

Contact: Axel Huckstorf, email: axel.huckstorf(at)swp-berlin.org

Cooperation with German library networks

FIV - The German Information Network for International Relations and Area Studies is a member of the Southwest German Library Network (SWB). The World Affairs Online database (WAO) is produced in K10plus, the database used by SWB and GBV (i.e. the library network of Northern Germany). All articles, papers and monographs listed in WAO can be found in the online catalogues of these networks, as well as in the Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue.

IREON Gateway

European Thesaurus International Relations and Area Studies

Der European Thesaurus ist ein multilingualer Thesaurus, der alle wesentlichen Aspekte des Fachgebiets Internationale Beziehungen und Regionalwissenschaften/ Länderkunde abbildet.

Der Thesaurus ist ein Spezialvokabular zur spezifischen inhaltlichen Beschreibung von und Suche nach Fachliteratur und Fakteninformationen auf dem Gebiet Internationale Beziehungen und Länderkunde.

Thematische Abdeckung

Die Schwerpunkte liegen auf internationalen und regionalwissenschaftlichen Themen. Die einzelnen Sachgebiete sind in 24 thematische Felder (Herunterladen als PDF-Datei) aufgegliedert. Jedes Feld enthält eine weitere sachsystematische Unterteilung.

Der Europäische Thesaurus umfasst rund 8.200 Deskriptoren (Schlagwörter) in neun Sprachen sowie zahlreiche Nichtdeskriptoren für jede Sprachversion, darunter ca. 600 Eigennamen von bedeutenden internationalen Institutionen und internationalen Abkommen.

Sprachen

Die Primärsprache des Thesaurus ist Englisch. Äquivalente der englischen Benennungen werden in den Sprachen Deutsch, Französisch, Italienisch, Polnisch, Spanisch und Tschechisch angeboten. Zusätzlich sind eine russische sowie eine kroatische Version im IREON-Portal verfügbar.

Der Thesaurus dient auch als terminologisches Referenzwerk oder als Übersetzungswerkzeug zum Nachschlagen eines Begriffs in anderen Sprachen.

Entstehung

Der Europäische Thesaurus ist das Ergebnis eines Kooperationsprojektes im Rahmen des European Information Network on International Relations and Area Studies (EINIRAS). Der Thesaurus integriert die Terminologien verschiedener bestehender Thesauri und Schlagwortsysteme europäischer Forschungseinrichtungen, u.a. Royal Institute of International Affairs, Institut français des relations internationales, Stockholm International Peace Institute, FIV - Fachinformationsverbund Internationale Beziehungen und Länderkunde.

Der Thesaurus wird regelmäßig aktualisiert.

Folgende Institute waren bzw. sind an der Erarbeitung des Europäischen Thesaurus beteiligt:

 

Cross-Konkordanzen

Cross-Konkordanzen erlauben die übergreifende Recherche über mehrere Datenbanken.

Es bestehen Cross-Konkordanzen zu folgenden fachlich benachbarten Thesauri:

  • Standard-Thesaurus Wirtschaft (STW)
  • Thesaurus Sozialwissenschaften (TheSoz)
  • TWSE - Thesaurus Wirtschaft und Soziale Entwicklung
  • PAIS-Thesaurus

 

Kontakt

Das Thesaurusprojekt wird koordiniert und administriert von der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP).

Kontakt: Axel Huckstorf, E-Mail: axel.huckstorf(at)swp-berlin.org

English version

The English version of our relaunched website will be available soon.

Kooperation mit den deutschen Bibliotheksverbünden

Der FIV ist Mitglied im Südwestdeutschen Bibliotheksverbund (SWB). Daher wird die WAO-Datenbank im K10plus produziert. Alle Aufsätze, E-Paper und Monographien aus WAO finden Sie im SWB Online-Katalog und auch im KVK – Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog, dem Metakatalog der Bibliotheksverbünde.

IREON-Portal